London / News / Outside the Lecture Room / Travel / Video

THE WORLD HAS LOST A GREAT JOURNALIST, AFRICA HAS LOST AN ADVOCATE… GHANA HAS LOST A SON – RIP Komla Dumor

Ghanaian reporter Komla Dumor reported Focus on Africa for the BBC. RIP

RIP: Ghanaian reporter Komla Dumor presented Focus on Africa for the BBC.

I woke up to the sound of his voice…

Even in my sleep, Komla Dumor demanded my attention – and he got it!

This wouldn’t be the first time that I’d fallen asleep on the couch while watching TV and doing course work. Except on this particular day, just a few days ago, I woke up to the familiar voice of the Ghanaian news reporter for BBC World News in the early hours of the morning. Even through my sleepy eyes I was proud to see a Ghanaian on my TV screen, and despite just waking up, I had subconsciously registered how inspiring it was to see an African reading the news to me. He made every news report seem so personal – as though he were talking directly to me.

I’m saddened by the news of his sudden death, said to be of a heart attack in his home in London. Aged just 41, he had a bright and prosperous ahead of him. Already a house-hold name in his native Ghana, Dumor is well-known for presenting¬†BBC World News and Focus on Africa; reporting Africa – from Africans.

I’m deeply saddened that I will never get an opportunity to meet him personally or even send a tweet of thanks directly to him. As a young aspiring journalist, seeing icons like him is the motivation I need to continue on the path of my chosen career as a travel journalist, whatever the obstacles. However I am grateful that I learnt of him before his death, and that his distinctive voice resonated in my memory from the period in 2006/2007 when I lived in Ghana and Dumor was a radio presenter.

I’m especially grateful for that particular morning, just some days ago, when I woke up to a bold reminder from Dumor that “we have a voice” the this industry… Little did I know it would be the last time I would be hearing his live on TV.

The world has lost a great journalist, Africa has lost an advocate… Ghana has lost a son.

My condolences to family, friends and all fans of Dumor. Rest in Perfect Peace.

Gone too soon... The world has lost a great Journalist, Africa has lost an advocate, Ghana has lost a son

Gone too soon… The world has lost a great Journalist, Africa has lost an advocate, Ghana has lost a son

3 thoughts on “THE WORLD HAS LOST A GREAT JOURNALIST, AFRICA HAS LOST AN ADVOCATE… GHANA HAS LOST A SON – RIP Komla Dumor

  1. Pingback: Reflecting on the Service of Thanksgiving and Farewell for Life of Komla Dumor vlog | the Educationally Frustrated student

  2. Pingback: The inBox: Message from Steffi in Amman, Jordan | the Educationally Frustrated student

  3. Pingback: Online lecture: Telling the African Story by Komla Dumor | the Educationally Frustrated student

Leave a Reply

