London / Student Life / Uncategorized

A black winter weekend with NUS

Last night I received confirmation for my place at the Black Students’ Winter Conference taking place this weekend – woohoo!

The event organised by the National Union of Students (NUS) will be held at the Institute of Education in London from Saturday 30th November – Sunday 1st December 2013.

This conference will be a great opportunity for some of my concerns as a black student to be addressed with a broad range of seminar and workshop topics.

On the agenda includes:

Black Women workshop
Fighting for Black representation in education & academia
Black Mental Health
Stop and Search
Black communities and the media
International Peace Justice
Student Assembly Against Austerity
Strong anti-racism campaigning on campus
Running effective Black clubs and societies

Not to mention the perfect platform to network and meet like-minded students. Who knows, I could end up a less frustrated student by the end of the week!

Look out for my report of the event coming soon.

20131128-163614.jpg
Special thanks to Shelly Asquith, UAL Students Union (STUARTS) President, who responded to my #tweets about my concern of the lack of representation in my students union. Shelly was kind enough to meet me for a chat and registered me for the Black Students’ Conference.
http://www.suarts.org

Do you know who represents you at your university? Get in touch with your Student Union reps!

For more info about NUS visit:
http://www.nus.org.uk

5 thoughts on “A black winter weekend with NUS

  1. Pingback: ‘EFed’ if I do, ‘F***ed’ if I don’t! | The Educationally Frustrated student

  2. Pingback: Highlights of the NUS Black Students Winter Conference 2013 | the Educationally Frustrated student

  3. Pingback: iSee: Panelists from the NUS Black Students Campaign Winter Conference 2013 | the Educationally Frustrated student

  4. Pingback: Who represents me? Meet my SU! | the Educationally Frustrated student

  5. Pingback: The inBox: Operation Black Students’ Representation election special! | the Educationally Frustrated student

Leave a Reply

