Outside the Lecture Room / Student Life / The inbox

The inBox: A Gratudate Student’s Story from Prospects

A graduate student’s story from Prospects, the UK’s official graduate careers website. Megan explains how a change of attitude kick-started her career.

Megan Jones recently landed her first graduate job after graduating from Swansea University with an MA in Creative Writing.

Almost a year ago I was feeling very frustrated. I had just graduated from my MA and was trying desperately to get onto the career ladder. But in spite of my best efforts I was getting nowhere, and was beginning to feel that my investment in education had been a complete waste of time and money.

Then it happened. After receiving yet another rejection email, I threw in the towel. If no one could see what I had to offer then they could shove it. I proceeded to spend the next week sulking around the house, convinced that I was going to be a barmaid for the rest of my life.

Eventually it dawned on me that the only person who could get me where I wanted to be was me. My self-pity was replaced with determination, and I set myself on course to land my first graduate job.

Taking constructive criticism on board
Armed with fresh perspective and a fighting spirit, I re-read my collection of rejection emails. It soon became clear what was holding me back; I just didn’t have enough experience. While I was reluctant to admit it, it was clear that I was falling short of the competition and needed to do something about it.
Pushing all frustrations about underpaid interns to the back of my mind, I breathed a sigh of relief. I had found my starting point. If I got some more experience under my belt and gave the recruiters what they were looking for, then maybe – just maybe – they would consider me.

Thinking outside the box
All I had to do now was find a company willing to take me on. Feeling optimistic, I sent off several emails to nearby companies offering up my time in return for some much needed experience. Yet I barely got a nibble of interest. I think only one company got in touch, and even then it was more of a ‘we’ll let you know’ response rather than anything of real consequence.

Read the rest of Megan’s story on the Prospects blog. Click here.

Look out for the next Student Story byΒ Nicaury Batista Angomas from Dominican Republic!

Have you got a student story you’d like to share on The Educationally Frustrated Student? Contact me today!

One thought on “The inBox: A Gratudate Student’s Story from Prospects

  1. Pingback: The Travel-in Student: Discovering the colours of the rainbow from Athens Georgia to London England | the Educationally Frustrated student

Leave a Reply

