At University / Features / Get Visual / London / Outside the Lecture Room / Student Life

FUSE mag: ‘What’s it like being an African student in London?’ teaser.

When Ire approached me yesterday afternoon in the LCC canteen asking if I could say a something about ‘what it’s like being an African student in London’, for a video segment of FUSE mag; I was all for it!

To be very honest, I’ve never thought about myself that simply before – “an African student in London.” I see myself as more of “a student who has a lot to offer because of her diverse background – who also happens to be of African heritage!

I was born and bred in London, however I’m still very much attached to my Ghanaian roots in every way possible. I don’t know any other way of being a student in London other than who I am – A British born Ghanaian. I stand strongly in solidarity with ALL under-represented students from different walks of life.

One of the major differences between the generation of students I’m at uni with, compared to the generation I grew up with (there’s a 7-10 year gap believe it or not!) – is a sense of pride in being ofΒ AFRICAN heritage (my Caribbean friends have finally seen the light)!

It’s contagious! And I don’t doubt that the rise and RISE of Afro-beat has played it’s part! I’m a huge afro-beat fan! You can probably tell from my vlogs – I make it a habit of playing an afro-beat joint in the into and outro – just to spice things up!

The music in this video is by Kayswitch ft D’banj (Obimo)… Look out for the FULL video with my answer and other African students answer to “What’s it like being an African student in London” coming soon!

Thanks to Ire and the Fuse mag team… I’m looking forward to seeing what you guys have to offer!

Ire scouting for Africans to tell their student experience at LCC

Ire scouting for Africans to tell their student experience at LCC

Related posts:

Vlog: Catching up on Magazine Publishing with 2nd Year LCC JournalismΒ students

The outtakes: Career mindset vlog interview withΒ Mathy!

One thought on “FUSE mag: ‘What’s it like being an African student in London?’ teaser.

  1. Pingback: Fashion Fix: Maxi-dress adds a touch of spring to LCC | the Educationally Frustrated student

Leave a Reply

