Features / Get Visual / News / Outside the Lecture Room

Holding It Down on The Street; Olga Lolo on the Modern Art Fronts

Holding It Down on The Street & Modern Art Fronts

When I saw Olga Lolo featured in Colorful Canvas Files: 7 Women Holding It Down on The Street & Modern Art Fronts for Clutch online magazine, I wasn’t surprised. Ola is the talented artist who drew the picture of me wearing a headwrap featured on this blog. I love her adaptation and creativity from the original “selfie” photograph I posted on Facebook to this illustration she created.

Kai's headwrap by Olga Lolo

Olga’s adaptation on a “selfie” photograph I took, to an illustrated work of art!

Here’s what African Digital Art stated, “Her work is not only beautiful but powerful and intriguing. Adisa Abeba (also known as Olga Lolo) is a passionate musician, photographer and illustrator well known for her original and spell bounding illustrations that focuses on a graphical metaphor.”  Olga Lolo is a multi-disciplined artist who expresses herself through illustration, photography, digital art, painting and music. Lolo grew up in Russia but recently relocated to the country of her birth, Ghana. On the stimulus for her abstract artistic vision she explains “When the feeling overwhelms me to the extent that I can’t think straight – then in order to free myself from it and come back to my senses, I search for a graphical metaphor to represent what is happening. Most of the times it comes itself, in a sudden flash I see the concept. Then, through drawing I let the emotion go.”

Continue reading the rest of the article Colorful Canvas Files: 7 Women Holding It Down on The Street & Modern Art Fronts

Kai x

A birthday present; sketch by Olga Lolo

A birthday present; sketch by Olga Lolo

Leave a Reply

